We’ve put together a timeline highlighting some of the most important milestones relating to the development of The Wheel of Time adaptation to television:

April 28th, 2016

Show Announced by Harriet McDougal. Here’s the very first post on this website from April 29th with Harriet’s update.

April 20th, 2017

Sony Pictures Television announced as production company with Rafe Judkins as show-runner.

October 2nd, 2018

Amazon announced to have ordered the series and set to serve as production company

February 19th, 2019

Uta Briesewitz announced as director

June 19th, 2019

Rosamund Pike to play Moiraine Damodred. First casting announcement

August 14th, 2019

The casting for the Emond’s Field Five (EF5) is announced:

Madeleine Madden as Egwene Al’vere
Zoe Robins as Nynaeve al’Meara
Josha Stradowski as Rand al’Thor
Marcus Rutherford as Perrin Aybara
Barney Harris as Mat Cauthon

September 4th, 2019

Casting announcement: Daniel Henney to play Lan Mandragoran

September 16th, 2019

First day of principal photography

October 2nd, 2019

Amazon released 55-second promotional video of the first table read

November 6th, 2019

Casting announcement: Michael McElhatton to play Tam al’Thor

December 4th, 2019

Casting announcement:

Alvaro Morte to play Logain Ablar
Johann Meyer to play Padan Fain
Hammad Animashaun to play Loial
Alexandre Willaume to play Thom Merrilin

December 23rd, 2019

Alanna Mosvani and Warders Ihvon and Maksim announced, played by Priyanka Bose, Emmanuel Imani and Taylor Napier

January 15th, 2020

First official set photo, posted by Rafe Judkins

January 22nd, 2020

Multiple cast members and roles revealed: Jennifer Cheon Garcia as Leane Sharif, Kate Fleetwood as Liandrin, Peter Franzen as Warder, Daryl McCormack in unkown role and Maria Doyle Kennedy in Unknown role. Most photos of the reveal came from the table read for episodes 5 and 6 of season 1.

February 19th, 2020

First official photo of Emond’s Field, posted by Rafe Judkins

March 13th, 2020

Filming halted due to coronavirus

June 24th, 2020

Casting announcement:

Lolita Chakrabarti to play Marin Al’Vere
Michael Tuahine to play Bran Al’Vere
David Stern to play Cenn Buie
Christopher Sciueref to play Abell Cauthon
Juliet Howland to play Natti Cauthon
Mandi Symonds to play Daise Congar

July 1st, 2020

Casting announcement:

Abdul Salis to play Eamon Valda
Stuart Graham to play Geofram Bornhald

July 8th, 2020

Casting announcement:

Pasha Bocarie to play Master Grinwell
Jennifer Preston to play Mistress Grinwell
Izuka Hoyle to play Dana

July 15th, 2020

Casting announcement:

Darren Clarke to play Basel Gill

July 22nd, 2020

Casting announcement:

Maria Doyle Kennedy to play Ila
Narinder Samra to play Raen
Daryl McCormack to play Aram

August 19th, 2020

Casting announcement:

Sophie Okonedo to play Siuan Sanche
Kae Alexander to play Min Farshaw

September 7th, 2020

Filming resumes after a 5-month hiatus